Books and Literature

[BOOK REVIEW] Do You Want to Start a Scandal?

bitmoji-20160927062905

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS; TRICKY, SCANDALOUS, TRYST-Y SPOILERS.YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Book: Do You Want to Start a Scandal

Author: Tessa Dare

Series: Spindle Cove book 5 (also kind of technically but not really Castles Ever After #4)

Okay, well. Tessa Dare has improved her storytelling. I did not stop smiling from page 4 on while reading this book; I laughed enough times my husband came into the living to see what I was laughing about.

The first book I ever read by Tessa Dare was Romancing the Duke, which I found to be cheesy and while entertaining, not all that impressive. Then I read Say Yes to the Marquess, and was surprised how much I loved Clio and Rafe and their impossible and yet perfect love story.

There, we met Piers. Piers, who I had no real opinion on. Piers, who made Clio wait 8 years for a wedding and then lost her to his younger brother. Piers, who is more like Rafe than I could have ever imagined.

Piers, the spy who likes to tease in the best way possible and who stole my heart.

Charlotte, too. That girl is amazing in all the ways. I have read quite a few historical romances in the last three years and I am on the cusp of saying Piers and Charlotte are by far my favorite couple. That means they beat out The Hathaways, and I LOVE the Hathaways.

This was a really awesome fun time with a spy on a mission and girl trying not to marry him, tangled up in a scandal that neither participated in but they are accused for. Charlotte wants to clear both their names so they can marry for love. Piers wants to marry her to keep up his cover. The problem is that both of them are searching for the same thing and it brings them ever closer because of it.

 

Or at least, as hard as Charlotte tries to convince herself she is not attracted to Piers, she is. And Piers? Charlotte surprises him at every turn.

She starts investigating to find the suspected lovers who had the tryst in the library. She sneaks information from guest books. She climbs out windows and jumps to trees and then climbs in his own. She knows a rare type of gun. She gets mistaken for searching for a female lover, gets tossed off a horse into a river, is poisoned, learns the secret of his left eyebrow and figures out the truth of his profession… and gets under all the protective barriers Piers has built up.

He would do anything to keep her alive and happy. Even climb out of windows and jump down from trees to help her locate a bookmark, pull her out of a river and keep her warm in all the ways his body desires, tup her against a wall, bleed her of poison, dabble in arson…

There is so much going on in this book and the best part is that it’s just pure fun with a lick of mystery and some very, very, very sexy sex. Sexy sexy sex. I was quite pleased.

Also, the ending to the mystery and Piers’ investigation? The best. The absolute best. I gave this one 5 stars, it was so much fun. I don’t even care that I didn’t read the rest of the Spindle Cove series.

Leave a Reply

