Books and Literature

[BOOK REVIEW] A Conjuring of Light

bitmoji-20160927062905

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS; SEAFARING, MAGICAL, PARALLEL UNIVERSE SPOILERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Book: A Conjuring of Light

Series:Shades of Magic, book 3

Author: V.E Schwab

Status: Trilogy COMPLETE

“Love and loss,” he said, “are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be.”


Well now. That was an adventure, for sure.

I did not imagine there would be a way, or a time, that I could feel bad for Holland. I also did not believe that I could come to love Rhy the way that I did (that poor boy is so worth all things). This book was a beast of an ending, but it was a good ending to a very strong fantasy series that I very nearly never picked up.

I don’t want to go into too much depth here on the first two books (there will be spoilers for them anyway), but my original reviews for A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows can be found on GoodReads for those who are interested. I am finding that my experiences with these books are so strange and can be measured in how Rhy surpassed Lila as my favorite character.

In book one, Lila was the only thing keeping me reading.

In book two, I was very disappointed at Lila’s lack of growth compared to others, and Rhy suddenly shot through the ceiling as a favorite.

In book three, Rhy brought me to tears and Lila impressed me with the suddenness of her own growth that I had not seen in the 2nd book.

The humor between Kell and Alucard was the best thing in this book, though. I loved their jabs at one another, all the way through to the end, that leads to an uneasy alliance due to the love they both share for Rhy. The two guys are so dedicated and loyal it almost rots your teeth. It makes you feel safe and secure, the way Rhy does.

Also, the betrayal? Poor Rhy. He did everything he could, protected his people, and in the end lost both is mother and his father (but thankfully, not his brother). Well, if he lost Kell, then he would also be dead, so yes. Double thank you Kell for surviving, Holland for allowing yourself to the sacrifice, and Lila for being smart enough to pull that dang ring off Kell’s finger, and traversing to White London to save him, and for all the other crazy things you did.

The only thing I have a slight frustration about is that seeing Lila in love was so weird. I think I would have been okay if Kell and Lila were just extremely close friends, even though them falling for each other makes complete sense. Also, I am glad we finally get to see that Lila is an Antari (which most of us had assumed since book one).

Hastra, Lenos… RIP. You two were wonderful and taken away too soon.

So many people died in this one that I actually cared about, and yet all of the main cast managed to survive. I call shenanigans, they just don’t get this lucky. Alucard was so sure he was dead and that dude just lucked out no ones business. Lila has had a death wish since the first book and she’s still kicking.

The only ones who can die are Rhy and Kell. Because if Kell dies, Rhy dies, and Rhy can get stabbed a million times and he’ll still be alive because Kell is.

All in all, this was a great trilogy. I’m glad I read it.

Leave a Reply

