Cats Marriage and Life

[FOOD] Diet Changes & Recipe Recs

But– but CaffeinatedNerdBlog is supposed to be about nerd culture, full of reviews and fandom discussions, and travel and–

Son, sit down. There ain’t ever been a nerd who didn’t need to eat, and this one right here has been cooking up a storm the last two weeks. I have also been working on setting a few independent goals for myself in relation to my diet. I am about a week in at this point but two week if you elect to ignore Superbowl Sunday.

What. I love football. Sue me.

Despite not usually being a good cook but having an unusually large amount of time on my  hands (literally, it’s on hands– I got my nails done and typing anything takes ages so writing was put on the back burner), I have managed to hit a few home runs in the kitchen. I am generally a fan of baking but I’ve expanded my horizons to the stove top and come out a winner. Not on my own though, of course.

Yummly.com has been my savior in all things food. It’s a super easy to use website that lets you search for recipes based on the ingredients you have at home or that you want to use, taking into consideration any dietary limits you tell it.

I love it. My husband loves it. You should love it too.

The dietary changes I have made for February are as follows:

  • Cut out added sugar where possible; no candy or baked goods, only fruit or honey
  • More vegetables, less carb
  • Diabetic friendly, for my husband
  • Less coffee (instead of a 1 a day, 1 a week), hot tea sweetened with honey
  • Eat at least three meals a day, no skipping breakfast or lunch
  • Remain under 1,360 calories daily (tracked using Lose It! app)

Nothing crazy. I am taking everything in steps; February is all about swapping to cleaner eating and healthier food and beverage habits. I’ll begin integrating exercise into the weekly routine in March.

Dinner is the biggest meal of my day, usually– but I have found ways to make the biggest meal not even be the most calories by making some simple, smart swaps. Here are a few of the recipes that hit home runs in my home:

I also made a few breakfasts (Blueberry Pecan Pancakes and Baked Avocado Egg Bowls). The rest of the time I’ve filled up on carrots, berries, greek yogurt or smoothies. Skipping rice or pasta where we can has been key. I feel drained of energy right now but I can feel that I, myself, feel a lot better overall. I am just waiting for my energy levels to equalize and then we’ll start adding exercise to the mix.

Let me know if any of you try these recipes– and make sure you let me know what you think!

One thought on “[FOOD] Diet Changes & Recipe Recs

Leave a Reply

