Books and Literature

[BOOK REVIEW] The Forgetting

bitmoji-20160927062905

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Book: The Forgetting

Author: Sharon Cameron

Series: None

Format: E-book

“Knowing the truth makes me alone. I wrote that once, but I think I was wrong. Fear of pain is what has made me alone. But today I realized that pain and love have a balance. I can feel so much of one only because I feel so much of the other.” 


I will have to start this review with a disclaimer: I did not love this book. 

Honestly, there was a part of me that did not want to review this. Why am I bothering to share my not-so-stellar opinions? It’s not that the book was bad– it wasn’t — but it wasn’t fantastic either.

It also swapped genres mid-novel and I wasn’t really sure how to proceed. I thought I was reading a dystopia/utopia story, and in the end it was a sci fi inter-planentary space drama. Um. Huh?  Talk about confusing, am I right?

I’m honestly left without much of a reaction; I can count the things I did like on one hand, and the things that didn’t make sense to me on another six or seven. This book just didn’t do it for me, the way it did for other people. I enjoyed the scene in the waterfall, was interested in the green light and then all of a sudden the entire novel was turned upside down and I became disassociated with the story overall.

Really disappointing, because I loved the premise of people writing their histories and I liked how the Forgetting happened and how dramatic it’s overcoming was. The rest of it though? I could have done without it.

Leave a Reply

