Books and Literature

[BOOK REVIEW] Six of Crows

bitmoji-20160927062905

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Book: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series: Six of Crows #1

Format: Kindle E-book

“I will have you without armor Kaz Brekker, or I will not have you at all.”



I have a confession: I have never read the Grisha trilogy.

Should I have read the Grisha trilogy before I read Six of Crows? Probably, but I don’t think it hindered my understanding too much. Bardugo did a good job of explaining what we as late ship jumpers would have missed. The extra information may have created a more fleshed out world, but all in all, I’m not feeling as if I have suffered.

That said, I’m not in a book hangover. I picked up a different book as soon as I finished this one.

Was it good? Yes. The beginning was slow, but the end of the novel rushed by and I did stay up too late trying to finish it. I had to work at 4 am. I’m not a morning person. And I read until 11 at night and flip flopped around thinking of how the book was going to end and failed to sleep a wink.

I still went to work. And I came home and finished the book first thing. No hello to my husband or my cats— just straight to my Supersac with my Kindle in hand to powerhouse through the remainder of the book.

Our heroes– or villians, if you will– take on an impossible mission. Infiltrate the Ice Court, break out a high-security prisoner, and escape within 6 hours. The problem? The Ice Court is known to be impossible to breach. Security is everywhere, and failure guarantees death.  What in the world could possibly bring Kaz, Jesper, Inej, Nina, Wylan and Matthias to do something this crazy?

The threat a new drug called Jurda purem which amplifies the power of Grisha to impossible levels and kills them at the same time, and a hefty reward of 30 million kruge. Think, $30 million dollars. That’s some serious cash. I might even attempt something this crazy for that kind of money– if I had the skills our morally questionable heroes possess.

I don’t, though. For shame.

The biggest shocker of this book? I was sure Kaz killed Pekka Rollins. I was positive he’d nearly jeopardized the mission to deal with his lifelong hatred of the man who swindled his brother and affectively caused his death by firepox. This man made Kaz what he is, twisted and broken and crippled in ways that are not just physical.

But nope. Kaz is smarter than me and he let him live– and put him in his debt. No one wants to be in Kaz Brekker’s debt.

I wasn’t too thrilled with the damsel in distress ending for Inej. She’s too wily to be taken prisoner, but I will withhold judgment until I see exactly how Kaz clears this up to get her back in Crooked Kingdom.

Overall, I’d give this a 3.5 out of 5, but I’ll round it up to 4 as I was entertained despite by misgivings.

Leave a Reply

