Hobbies · NaNoWriMo · Writing

NaNoWriMo 2016

So. NaNoWriMo.

Last year I managed to barrel through losing 9,000 words of work to finish Thanksgiving night with 50,511 words. I took a month long break, then finished the first draft of my novel at 72,032 words. I did a quick read-through on the novel I wrote in July and was quite disappointed; I thought the book was great, but when I read it again I realized I was overconfident. It was too fast paced, had too many loopholes, and changed genre so many times it almost hurt.

This book will definitely need a monstrous rewrite and some very carefully thought out planning and drafting if I am ever going to move forward with publishing it. If you are interested in reading my poor excuse for a first novel rough rough rough draft, it’s posted for all to see on Wattpad.

Now NaNoWriMo is rolling back around, I’m in the middle of moving and an immensely hectic work schedule, and I have posted up a novel called UNTITLED on NaNoWriMo’s website. I have made the dedication to write again this year.

Problem is, I have no idea what I’m going to write.

#Goals #whatdidigetmyselfinto #thisisabadidea #isittooearlytothrowinthetowel

No, but seriously. I have no clue what to write. I have no novel ideas floating around in my head or screaming characters that can outshine the burden of everyday work that is pounding in my head. Budget reporting and facility restructuring and the crazy number of hours and days I’ll be working from open to close seem to be much, much louder.

Also, the two days I’ll lose thanks to moving. That is also a wee bit of  weight crushing on my shoulders.

Can you tell I have a habit of biting off way more than I can chew? Can you?

At this point, the way I see it is I have a few options:

  1.  I’ve listed the novel under romance. I can write an easy cheesy romance novel of any sort I like.
  2. I can reclassify the novel as fan fiction and write about Gruvia’s 6 months together- in succession- since I doubt Mashima will do it and it’s full of questions I NEED answers to
  3. I can reclassify the novel as young adult and work on Slumber Creek’s “sequel”, Trance City (the two novels may or may not be a bind up with a central split due to change in narrator)

The problem is, which of these options pulls at me and demands to be written? Absolutely none of them.

I’m going to have to sit down and force myself through some word dump exercises in the next few days to see if I can get something relating to a story started, or at least a rough outline of a potential novel. I need to start recording my dreams, stocking up on my caffeine and some new toons. I need to work on enlisting a partner to help push me through this difficult time.

NaNoWriMo hasn’t even started and I’m already getting worn out. Yikes.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2016

Leave a Reply

